Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Miscellaneous > Content Comments



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2007, 09:31 AM   #1
Hardware Secrets Team
Administrator
 
Join Date Nov 2004
Posts: 5,579
Hardware Secrets Team is on a distinguished road

Default P35 Series from Gigabyte

There has been a new article posted.

Title: P35 Series from Gigabyte
URL: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/440

Here is a snippet:
"P35 (codename “Bearlake”) is the next Intel chipset family that will be launched on June 4th. The main new features include support for DDR3 memories, a new south bridge chip, ICH9, and support for 1,..."

Comments on this article are welcome.

Best regards,
Hardware Secrets Team
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Hardware Secrets Team is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 05-01-2007, 11:22 AM   #2
Skye
Senior Member
 
Skye's Avatar
 
Join Date Aug 2006
Minnesota
Posts: 168
Skye is on a distinguished road

Default

Could you have DDR2 and DDR3 installed at the same time seeing as they have different slots?
__________________
I am ready to meet my Maker. Whether my Maker is prepared for the ordeal of meeting me is another matter.
- Winston Churchill
Skye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:14 PM   #3
Hilariousity
Junior Member
 
Hilariousity's Avatar
 
Join Date Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Hilariousity is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye View Post
Could you have DDR2 and DDR3 installed at the same time seeing as they have different slots?
Good question, Im guessing the green slots are the DDR3 ones right?
Hilariousity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 05:02 PM   #4
Skye
Senior Member
 
Skye's Avatar
 
Join Date Aug 2006
Minnesota
Posts: 168
Skye is on a distinguished road

Default

Yep, the green ones.

I wouldn't think the computer could use two different types of memory at once, but I want to be hopeful. Also, it would be pretty sweet to get one of these boards now and know that I don't have to toss out a motherboard and memory later.
__________________
I am ready to meet my Maker. Whether my Maker is prepared for the ordeal of meeting me is another matter.
- Winston Churchill
Skye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 06:02 PM   #5
Hilariousity
Junior Member
 
Hilariousity's Avatar
 
Join Date Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Hilariousity is on a distinguished road

Default

This board is great if you want hybrid memory modules, but I'm not sure that DDR3 is necessary yet. I'm going wait until those new fusion motherboards start coming out with the GPU and the CPU on the same die then you will actually need those DDR3 speeds because the GPU will be running on system memory. Either that or someone has to find someway to get GDDR4 memory on a motherboard

Last edited by Hilariousity; 05-01-2007 at 06:26 PM. Reason: your mother
Hilariousity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 08:31 PM   #6
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,416
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Hi,

No. You have to choose between DDR2 OR DDR3. Both cannot be used at the same time.

Cheers,
Gabriel.
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:43 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
© 2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.