Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Miscellaneous > Content Comments



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2007, 11:31 AM   #1
Hardware Secrets Team
Administrator
 
Join Date Nov 2004
Posts: 5,591
Hardware Secrets Team is on a distinguished road

Default SLI vs. CrossFire

There has been a new article posted.

Title: SLI vs. CrossFire
URL: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/391

Here is a snippet:
"With the recent release of CrossFireX by AMD/ATI and 3-way SLI by nVidia we think it is a good time to make a technical comparison between all incarnations of these two technologies, which have the sa..."

Comments on this article are welcome.

Best regards,
Hardware Secrets Team
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Hardware Secrets Team is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 03-04-2008, 08:26 PM   #2
kabugaw
Junior Member
 
Join Date Feb 2008
Posts: 17
kabugaw is on a distinguished road

Default Crossfiring on SLI-Ready Boards

Hi! It's quite obvious from the title of my post that I'm new to the concept of the technology (and I doubt if I would ever use the same). Three questions for you guys:
  1. Would ATI graphics cards work on SLI-ready boards?
  2. If ATI graphics cards work on SLI-ready boards, would crossfire work in them as well?
  3. Would say an HD 2600XT GDDR4 work in crossfire with an HD 2600 Pro GDDR3?
Thanks in advance for your patience in answering my noobish questions! Cheers!
kabugaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 12:14 PM   #3
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,431
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Hi,

Please read the article. All the answers to your questions are there.

Thanks,
Gabriel.
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:45 PM   #4
pablo NZ
Junior Member
 
Join Date Apr 2008
Posts: 1
pablo NZ is on a distinguished road

Default

Hiya,

You don't need to use both bridges when Crossfiring two cards (at least not with the HD 3000 series), and you can run CrossfireX with only 2 PCI-E slots using two 3870X2 cards (or the upcoming 3850X2).

pablo NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 08:05 AM   #5
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,431
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Thanks for the reminder. The problem is that at first AMD was using the name "CrossFireX" for the 4-way CrossFire systems, but now they changed and are using the name "CrossFireX" for any CrossFire system, including the old ones.

I'll try to update this ASAP.

Cheers,
Gabriel.
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:08 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.