Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Memory



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2013, 01:54 AM   #1
cobete10
Senior Member
 
Join Date Aug 2011
Spain
Posts: 12
cobete10 is on a distinguished road

Lightbulb How can a memory module get broken?

Hi.

I've been using my PC with 4 GB of RAM for several years and it started to fail randomly around a week ago: BSOD, kernel panic when running Linux, etc.

So I run memtest86+ to check the memory and it appeared that the memory was faulty. I tested then the memory modules one by one until I found out the broken one. Just to be sure, I tested this very memory module in another motherboard and the results were the same: a lot of errors in Memtest86+. FYI, the module is a Kingston KVR400X64C3A/1G.

This is the first time that I see something like this and I'm curious. I don't recall my PC suffering a power outage or similar. Maybe the memory overheated because is the closest one to the CPU? That would be a little bit weird because I've been using this box for years with no problem at all.

I know that nobody probably will know exactly what happened to that module but if possible I would like to read about possible culprits. I wouldn't like to buy a new memory module to find out that it broke also. Oh, and the four memory modules were fine just a year ago, checked also with Memtest86+.

Thanks in advance.
cobete10 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 07-15-2013, 08:43 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,431
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

How can a light bulb burn? How can a DVD player stop working? How can a TV burn? How can a chair break?

There are some things that simply burn, break, or stop working.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 08:15 AM   #3
Onus
Senior Member
 
Onus's Avatar
 
Join Date Jun 2010
Tennessee, USA
Posts: 288
Onus is on a distinguished road

Default

What brand and model (not just wattage) is your PSU? Turn-on spikes, ripple out of spec, and other power anomalies can damage components over time.
Onus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 12:09 PM   #4
cobete10
Senior Member
 
Join Date Aug 2011
Spain
Posts: 12
cobete10 is on a distinguished road

Default TACENS Radix V 450

The PSU is a TACENS Radix V 450 purchased half and year ago.

I don't know if they are useful but its specs are available although only in Spanish.
cobete10 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
broke, bsod, failed, memory, ram

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New memory upgrade problem ePaladin Memory 4 12-18-2011 07:31 AM
Memory Upgrade questions andressa Memory 1 11-16-2009 06:06 AM
How many watts are consumed by a DDR2 memory module? Tomas García Memory 1 07-21-2009 10:15 PM
TOTAL Noob in Overclocking MSI DKA790GX Platinum with AMD Phenom II X4 940 zmcqdv Overclocking 0 03-19-2009 11:47 PM
Corsair Memory Help Tobertek Memory 2 06-24-2007 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:11 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
© 2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.