Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Miscellaneous > Content Comments



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2006, 05:20 PM   #1
Hardware Secrets Team
Administrator
 
Join Date Nov 2004
Posts: 5,576
Hardware Secrets Team is on a distinguished road

Default How to Setup a RAID System

There has been a new article posted.

Title: How to Setup a RAID System
URL: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/393

Here is a snippet:
"RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks and with at least two hard disk drives you can setup them as a RAID array in order to increase the disk performance or to improve data reliability...."

Comments on this article are welcome.

Best regards,
Hardware Secrets Team
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Hardware Secrets Team is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 04-15-2010, 10:17 PM   #2
ACG
Junior Member
 
Join Date Apr 2010
Posts: 2
ACG is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardware Secrets Team View Post
There has been a new article posted.

Title: How to Setup a RAID System
URL: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/393

Here is a snippet:
"RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks and with at least two hard disk drives you can setup them as a RAID array in order to increase the disk performance or to improve data reliability...."

Comments on this article are welcome.

Best regards,
Hardware Secrets Team
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com

This sounds like what im looking into. I want 2 hdd/ssd in raid 0. But I dont know if I can partition the os to 1 of the drives and then raid the 2 as one. What i'm asking is on one drive install the O.S then raid 0 them as 1? In other word have 1: partition for the O.S on my frist drive 2nd: partition for music, movies, pictures on my 2nd drive 3rd: partition for gaming as a raid 0? I've been all over looking into it and cant find anything like this.
ACG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 10:55 PM   #3
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

No, you can't. You have to first make a RAID 0 of the two disks, and then you can divide the resulting single drive into multiple partitions (where the OS might reside on one of them).

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 02:41 PM   #4
ACG
Junior Member
 
Join Date Apr 2010
Posts: 2
ACG is on a distinguished road

Default Raid 0

O Ok so itll work the same way id just start by raiding the drives as one then doing partitions the way I want after that. Does that mean I can have 2 drives of different sizes to do so? Like a 160GB and a 80GB same drive different size?
ACG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 12:31 PM   #5
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

As far as I know the general idea is that both disks are supposed to be identical (same make and model) to assure success.
Some RAID controllers might be able to handle disks that differ to some extent, but that's beyond my expertise.

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 09:05 AM   #6
Demosthenes
Super Moderator
 
Demosthenes's Avatar
 
Join Date Feb 2010
Posts: 34
Demosthenes is on a distinguished road

Default

The drives must be the same capacity. It is recommended that the drives are the same make and model but it is not mandatory.
Demosthenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 04:55 AM   #7
KjellB
Junior Member
 
Join Date Jul 2010
Posts: 1
KjellB is on a distinguished road

Default

Very good tutorial, Thanks. However, I miss a description of how a defective drive can be replaced when I have drives that can be hotswapped. And also how monitoring works, how am I notified when a drive fails?
KjellB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:52 AM   #8
EasyBee
Junior Member
 
Join Date Mar 2012
Posts: 1
EasyBee is on a distinguished road

Default Warning

Be careful which drives you use!!! In 2009, hard drive manufacturers started shipping consumer models that are not suitable for raid set ups because you can not limit the time the drive takes to perform error recovery. Without this limit available, a drive will appear to fail and be booted from the array.

Search 'TLER' for more info. That's just the term for WEstern Digital hard drives; every company has their own term.

If you don't buy the correct drives, you will waste a lot of money buying more later, or end up with no RAID.
EasyBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:21 PM   #9
shinyjanjan
Senior Member
 
Join Date Mar 2012
Posts: 5
shinyjanjan is on a distinguished road

Default

Very comprehensive tutorial as always.. Thanks Gab keep up the good work!
shinyjanjan is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:16 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.