Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Other > PC Doesn't Turn On



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 02:51 AM   #1
VINIDHI
Junior Member
 
Join Date Aug 2010
Posts: 3
VINIDHI is on a distinguished road

Default Dell Laptop does not start (only power light on for few seconds)

Hi
I have Dell Vostro 1310 Laptop. When I press power button on laptop, the light on power button stays on for 1-2 seconds and then laptop switches off. Fan does not run neither HDD light nor any other sound.
The person to whom I gave for diagnosis says it is because of faulty graphics card (he is only 80% sure). The graphics card is integrated with Mother Board.
I do not want to mess up with mother board. I tried different things and iteration after searching on internet but no success.
Can somebody help me please?

- Vipul
VINIDHI is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 08-12-2010, 06:26 AM   #2
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

My first reaction is that it is a power issue.
See if you can test to start it on battery only, external power only (battery removed) or whatever you can think of.

Other than that you'll have to open it up and do some diagnostics on the power or leave it for somebody else to do.

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:54 PM   #3
VINIDHI
Junior Member
 
Join Date Aug 2010
Posts: 3
VINIDHI is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle P View Post
My first reaction is that it is a power issue.
See if you can test to start it on battery only, external power only (battery removed) or whatever you can think of.

Other than that you'll have to open it up and do some diagnostics on the power or leave it for somebody else to do.

Cheers
Olle
Hi

Yesterday I when I pressed and hold power button with Fn key for few seconds all the lights came up with fan continuously running. The CAPS LOCK/SCROLL LOCK lights were on and NUM LOCK light blinking. No HDD light. When I tried to switch off it was not switching off and then i had to remove the battery and power supply. I do not know why this happened?

- Vipul
VINIDHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:38 AM   #4
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINIDHI View Post
I pressed and hold power button with Fn key for few seconds ...
How come you thought of trying that?

- You've got a Dell computer.
- Dell computers are notorious (together with old Compaq) to use in-house proprietary solutions that don't adhere to universal standards.
- Therefore it takes a Dell specialist to solve your problem!

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
VINIDHI
Junior Member
 
Join Date Aug 2010
Posts: 3
VINIDHI is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle P View Post
How come you thought of trying that?

- You've got a Dell computer.
- Dell computers are notorious (together with old Compaq) to use in-house proprietary solutions that don't adhere to universal standards.
- Therefore it takes a Dell specialist to solve your problem!

Cheers
Olle
Yesterday, I was able to start my laptop sometimes by pressing power button with function key and sometimes normal start-up. I went into the BIOS assuming that it could be the BIOS problem, I reset the settings to factory default and then my bad luck...windows got corrupted..now when I start my laptop windows fail to load after flashing a blue screen...I was not able to read the error code as it happened very fast...I tried to re-install the windows and after booting from CD drive, the windows failed to install ..... it says "windows failed to detect any HDD connected with your computer....." one problem after another.
- Vipul
VINIDHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:48 PM   #6
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Poor you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINIDHI View Post
... after booting from CD drive, the windows failed to install ..... it says "windows failed to detect any HDD connected with your computer....."
Been there, done that...

[Going nostalgic:] In my case, nearly 15 years ago, I tried to increase the monitor resolution (going from 640x480 to 1024x768). The computer generated a very good looking desktop screen before freezing.
Restarting the computer it totally failed to boot.
The BIOS did recognise that there was a HDD, but MS-DOS running off my "emergency" floppy wasn't able to access it at all.
I managed to fix the problem by having the BIOS reformat the HDD. (A very handy feature that I haven't seen anywhere later!)
After that I could re-install MS-DOS and Windows 3.11 and have the computer running as before (on the lower screen resolution).

I have absolutely no idea on how you should "repair" the computer, other than have it done by a professional (which might be pretty expensive) or replace the computer with a new one (which might be in the same ballpark as a repair, cost wise).
- How old is your computer?

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 12:00 PM   #7
Somulent
Junior Member
 
Join Date Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Somulent is on a distinguished road

Default

I had exactly this problem with a Dell laptop.

The solution turned out to be simple - it was a sticky switch that turns off the laptop when the lid is closed. Wiggle it a bit, perhaps introduce a small amount of switch cleaner or even replace it. I just removed the plastic tongue that operated the switch thus disabling it.

Hope this helps someone - I almost threw the laptop out!
Somulent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:29 PM   #8
klinc
Senior Member
 
klinc's Avatar
 
Join Date Dec 2010
Posts: 323
klinc is on a distinguished road

Default

Remove the battery then put the charger in then power it on.
__________________
I7-2600k @4.8Ghz | ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME 3-Way SLI | 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance 1867mhz CL8 10-9-24 1T 1.600V | 3x Zotac Gtx580 SLI | OCZ Vertex 2 SF 180gb | 2x Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1Tb Raid-0 | CORSAIR AX1200 | Thermalright Silver Arrow | Antec 1200 |
3DMARK11
klinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 04:16 AM   #9
gnomarvin
Junior Member
 
Join Date Jun 2014
philippines
Posts: 1
gnomarvin is on a distinguished road

Default try this

try this kindly., check your power cord.., if its working try other power cable/ adaptor..
gnomarvin is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Precision M2400 Laptop output to HDMI cbreese Audio 1 02-05-2010 08:33 PM
IC power supply pinout (gateway laptop) helpmeplease Power 1 01-11-2010 10:20 AM
Acer 5515 laptop won't start odeho19 PC Doesn't Turn On 1 08-21-2009 09:57 AM
Power light on - NO BOOT/SOUND/VIDEO metaverse Motherboards and Chipsets 3 03-16-2009 11:25 PM
Power Light On, Will Not Boot MKBNEWLIN PC Doesn't Turn On 2 04-21-2008 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:34 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.