Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Motherboards and Chipsets



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 07:45 AM   #1
tj11
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2011
Posts: 5
tj11 is on a distinguished road

Default Foxconn M61PMV and Phenom II X4 955 be

Hi there,

I have the M61PMV (old crappy mobo I know) and wanted to make one final CPU upgrade before I started a new build.

The compatibility list for my my mobo states that my new Phenom II X4 955 is supported but even with the latest BIOS update, CPU-z shows it to be locked at 800mhz.

I have disabled COOl+QUIET in in the BIOS as I'm aware this can cause the clock to be hiked back.

Is my processor ACTUALLY supported or are FOXCONN publishing false info on their support pages?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by tj11; 05-25-2011 at 09:20 AM. Reason: typo
tj11 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 05-24-2011, 10:34 PM   #2
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Can it be that CPU-Z reads the wrong value? 800MHz seems like your RAM clock...
What does your BIOS say?

/Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:02 AM   #3
tj11
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2011
Posts: 5
tj11 is on a distinguished road

Default

It's definitly the CPU clock. I have flahed the the latest P10 BIOS update and loaded optimized defaults. However CPU-z and still shows the clock to be 803.7 with x4.0 multiplyer. This low speed is reflected in my Windows Experience Index which has dropped from 6.1 to 3.7.

System Information in Control Panel displays the Phenom processor as : AMD Phenom(tm) X4 955 Processor 803 mhz

BIOS is set to auto detect.

Is there anything else I can try?

Last edited by tj11; 05-25-2011 at 02:03 AM. Reason: wrong info
tj11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:24 AM   #4
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Interesting...

Totally haphazardly, a colleague of mine is about to do a similar upgrade to the one you've done (a new CPU on an AM2+ mobo with nVidia chipset). He found some forum where lots of users had done that upgrade, and it does take some fiddling to get it right.

The key is to not just install the new BIOS and think you're done, but to after installation of the BIOS also clear the CMOS (using the jumper on the motherboard), not once but a couple of times. Also power the computer completely off (not the PSU in stand-by, but no power at all) and on a couple of times, making sure all capacitors are completely discharged between each start.

Then the CPU should run as advertised.

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 06:01 AM   #5
tj11
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2011
Posts: 5
tj11 is on a distinguished road

Default

Cheers for the advice! Will give it a try.
tj11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 08:46 AM   #6
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,430
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Can you please post the CPU-Z screenshots?

Thanks,
Gabriel.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 09:08 AM   #7
tj11
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2011
Posts: 5
tj11 is on a distinguished road

Default

Screenshots:






Incidentally I tried resetting the CMOS a couple of times as advised by Olle P but it's still the same as you can see.

Last edited by tj11; 05-25-2011 at 09:16 AM. Reason: change image host
tj11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:14 AM   #8
tj11
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2011
Posts: 5
tj11 is on a distinguished road

Default

I am able to change the clock multiplayer to 16.0x in the BIOS but this results in what appears to be an unstable overclock, with any attempt to run programs that would use the full CPU speed causing Windows to freeze within a few minutes of attempting said processing.

Surely there must be a way to get my mobo to natively support this clock speed without having to (unstably) set it manually?

I'm all out of ideas.
tj11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:26 AM   #9
Tenshi
Senior Member
 
Join Date Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Tenshi is on a distinguished road

Default

I know this post is old, but after weeks of searching for more information about this topic I
I haven't been able to find anything! So in hope to help others that might come across this topic.... The processor shown in his CPU Z pics is a 125w processor " Revision RB-C3" And the MOBO Foxconn M61PMV can only handle a 95w CPU! I will be testing out the 95w AMD Phenom II x4 955 on this MOBO Friday! And I will post results on this topic!
Tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 05:56 AM   #10
Tenshi
Senior Member
 
Join Date Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Tenshi is on a distinguished road

Default

Ok so I finally got the 95w AMD Phenom II x4 955 in yesterday! I booted up the bios and it showed the CPU name, the multiplier was set at x4, allowing all the way up to x19, but no matter if you try and change it it still remains at x4, after booting into win 7 I found that only two cores were being powered! I will post some pics of CPU z later, but the overall test show that even the 95w processor is not supported by this board!
Tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
amd, foxconn, m61pmv, phenom ii x4 955

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:00 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.