Hardware Secrets Forums

Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Recommendations for Custom PC Building

Old 04-16-2012, 05:37 PM   #1
Killakiwi

Join Date Apr 2012
Killakiwi is on a distinguished road

Default Also a virgin, be gentle.

Hi there. I decided to take the plunge and build my very own super awesome badass pc. Well mid to high range anyway.

I have done alot of research over the last 6 months and have begun to put together what I want. Pretty sure it will be a fairly good system, but as this is my first time, why not ask some people that actually know to make sure I have it right.

So far, I have bought the case, the mobo and the PSU.

The case is a Bitfinex Colosuss, in white. HUGE case, and didnt really realise how big it was until I had bought it, but I have it now, so.... yea.

PSU is a Corsair AX750W Gold something something.

And the mobo is a Asus P8z77-V.

Thats what I have so far. I would like to get the Ivy Bridge i5 3750K(i think thats it) and probably the GTX680 as my GPU.

Kinda want my first build to be decent. So here are my ideas, please feel free to critique or comment as Im new any tips are appreciated.

Hope I got the right mobo?

I dont really wanna SLI(not yet anyway) and will mainly be for gaming.

Havent got anything else yet but will be soon. Thanks in advance. Kiwi.
Killakiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 04-16-2012, 10:47 PM   #2
C.W.

Join Date Jan 2011
C.W. is on a distinguished road

This is currently what you have:

CPU: 3750K
-Cooling
GPU: GTX 680
Mobo: Asus P8Z77-V
RAM:
HDD:
SSD:

PSU: Corsair AX750W
Case: Bitfenix Colossus
DVD:

Monitor:

I'd suggest:
RAM: 8gb (two sticks of 4gb) 1600 DDR3 RAM.
HDD: 1 tb WD caviar blue (or black if you want to feel special)
SSD: 64gb Crucial M4 <= install the OS on this