Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Memory



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 11:49 AM   #1
JonnyMoore
Junior Member
 
Join Date Apr 2012
Posts: 2
JonnyMoore is on a distinguished road

Default Is the RAM Overclock automatic if the native RAM speed matches the MoBo OC specs?

Hi there HS pro,
Even after reading several articles, I still find myself with a lingering question...is all the RAM OC'ing determined by the MoBo's spec, or does the RAM itself have to be "OC" type ram to accomplish this?

Here's the board I'm looking to get:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130581
RAM spec: DDR3 1066/1333/1600*/2133*(OC)

And here's a possible RAM choice:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233184
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000)

So, I get that the board's native support is for 1333. Will DDR3 1866 even work in this board since it's not listed as an option?

And, say I'm looking to accomplish a speed of 1600, do I buy 1333 labeled RAM, and then ask the board to OC it to 1600? Or do I buy 1600 labeled RAM and the board will auto set to that? (I'm guessing this second one is the correct and that I OC on the board to the Ram's max, but wanna be sure)

I'd like to stay in this $60-70 range for 8GB and use this board. It'll be predominantly for heavy gaming, but also for mutli-track DAW's and with large processing load. Love a suggestion.

Cheers and thanks,
Jon
JonnyMoore is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 04-30-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,415
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Hi,

DDR3-1866 memory will work at 1600 MHz. This speed grade is specifically designed for the AMD FX processors, which support up to 1,866 MHz. Honestly, performance improvement is marginal. Therefore, pick 1333 MHz modules and save some money.

Below I give you some additional tips.

Some motherboard will automatically configure the right speeds if they both support the same protocol, namely Intel's XMP: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...ofile-xmp.html

In any case, I'd enter the motherboard setup and double check the configuration myself.

Another tip is to use CPU-Z to check if the memory speed is configured correctly, and also to see if it is correctly configured as dual-channel (or triple-channel or quad-channel, depending on the system):

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

Keep in mind that CPU-Z reports the real memory speed, which is half of the labeled speed.

I hope I have helped.

Gabriel.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
C.W.
Senior Member
 
C.W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date Jan 2011
Posts: 425
C.W. is on a distinguished road

Default

the higher RAM speeds do tend to help with the on chip integrated graphics (probably because they use the RAM as 'vram'?) Also, higher RAM speeds seem to do better on CPUs with memory controllers that support faster speeds (AMD's FX @ 1866 and IvyBridge @ 1600).

The boost won't change your world. It probably isn't a real issue if it's like $10-15 difference between 1333 and whatever you want. But I do tend to take issue with budget builds that spend a lot on high-end RAM, but can't justify it.
C.W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 02:32 PM   #4
JonnyMoore
Junior Member
 
Join Date Apr 2012
Posts: 2
JonnyMoore is on a distinguished road

Default

Thanks to both thoughtful responses. I was starting to get the idea that simply going with a larger amount of 1333 would be just fine for my new build and that's what I'm gonna do. Can always upgrade later. I'll put the saved 10-30 bucks towards a higher rated quiet case.

Cheers,
JM
JonnyMoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:02 AM   #5
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,415
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

That's my opinion: more 1333 MHz memory is better than less 1866 MHz memory.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory mobo speed mismatch OK? fltcpt Memory 1 04-11-2009 01:44 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.