Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Recommendations for Custom PC Building



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 08:51 AM   #1
Ulysses1
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ulysses1 is on a distinguished road

Default Low wattage system, will these work together?

Considering the following parts to make a low wattage system for use at an off-grid house:

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770T

RAM: Kingston HyperX LoVo DDR3L-1600 CL10 (32GB = 4 x 8GB)

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Q77M-D2H (rev. 1.0)
(this has the Q77 chipset that supports VT-d which is important for my use)

SSD: 480GB OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 series RVD3X2-FHPX4-480G PCI-E

CPU cooling: Noctua NH-U9B SE2

PSU: M4-ATX-HV 250w

PSU enclosure: M4 ATX Enclosure

Case: Lian-li PC-A04

Here's a copy of the motherboard/bios manual if it helps, especially regarding the low voltage ram.

Are there any incompatibilities or size problems in the chosen components?

Last edited by Ulysses1; 11-09-2012 at 09:30 AM.
Ulysses1 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 11-09-2012, 02:03 PM   #2
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 779
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

It looks good in general, but OCZ SSDs have a very poor reputation for reliability. I'd go with an Intel or Kingston SSD. (like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820167087), unless you have some particular reason for needing a PCI-E SSD.

Also, drop the RAM back to 16GB or 8GB. 32GB is totally overkill

Last edited by c.hegge; 11-09-2012 at 02:07 PM.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
Ulysses1
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ulysses1 is on a distinguished road

Default

Thanks. I'm a little concerned with the LoVo ram, can you tell from the bios manual above whether LoVo is supported?
Ulysses1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #4
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 779
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

I think it will work, but I'd just go with standard HyperX Blu RAM, or Kingston ValueRAM. It's cheaper and the difference in power consumption would be very minor. The RAM is never really much or a power hog (unless you're seriously overclocking it).
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:22 AM   #5
Ulysses1
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ulysses1 is on a distinguished road

Default

It's meant to work as long as possible off a small solar panel and batteries, so every watt counts.

Does page 29 of the manual where it says "DDR Voltage" confirm Kingston Hyper LoVo is supported?
Ulysses1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:22 AM   #6
Merman
Senior Member
 
Merman's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2008
Posts: 695
Merman is on a distinguished road

Default

c.hegge has given you good advice.

Unless you have a need for more memory two 4gig sticks for 8GB of memory will be enough and will give you the least problems, which seems to be what you need being off the power grid. Gigabyte's recommended memory is on the motherboard page, top right. Click on the memory support list and it will pop right up. Usually the exact part numbers are not found but matching the specs for the same brands works.

Interesting PSU and it seems to be of high quality. What are you going to use for its power??? Same power for the satellite dish and the home in general???

P.S. I did checkout the parts and they should fit together. Even the cpu cooler. I noticed the fan can be moved up if interferes with the memory. Value ram usually comes without heatsinks or have low height heatsinks. It is also usually cheaper and very compatible.

Last edited by Merman; 11-10-2012 at 06:33 AM.
Merman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:37 AM   #7
Ulysses1
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ulysses1 is on a distinguished road

Default

Alright, let's put less ram, it will reduce consumption too.

It gives a recommended ram on the spec page but also gives some "DDR Voltage" option in the manual page, provided XMP ram is used. Is the ram I found in this category, does it still have some risk?

Everything will be powered from 24V AGM batteries, which are charged from solar panels or a noisy gasoline genset.
Ulysses1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:18 PM   #8
Merman
Senior Member
 
Merman's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2008
Posts: 695
Merman is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulysses1 View Post
It gives a recommended ram on the spec page but also gives some "DDR Voltage" option in the manual page, provided XMP ram is used. Is the ram I found in this category, does it still have some risk?

Everything will be powered from 24V AGM batteries, which are charged from solar panels or a noisy gasoline genset.
XMP stands for Xtreme Memory Profile and lets the MB know the parametors to set for extreme or overclocking memory.

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...ofile-xmp.html


Though 1.35LV is now a standard voltage for DDR3 memory I agree with
c.hegge's recommedations and the ones I added. Two sticks of 4GB 1333mhz or 1600mhz at 1.5V is your best bet. Its the most standard and most compatible. You also won't have any problems that happen when trying to populate all the memory sockets with memory modules.

http://news.softpedia.com/news/DDR3-...d-149164.shtml

http://www.dataram.com/blog/?p=102

Nice to hear about your use of solar panels and I suppose gasoline as a backup is more common than diesel though not as safe.

Last edited by Merman; 11-10-2012 at 05:25 PM. Reason: one more link.
Merman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:39 PM   #9
Ulysses1
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Ulysses1 is on a distinguished road

Default

I wonder if it is possible to buy used ram and if it does not work return it. Is there a danger that the ram is damaged, that the motherboard is damaged, or that the cpu is damaged?
Ulysses1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 02:06 AM   #10
Merman
Senior Member
 
Merman's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2008
Posts: 695
Merman is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulysses1 View Post
I wonder if it is possible to buy used ram and if it does not work return it. Is there a danger that the ram is damaged, that the motherboard is damaged, or that the cpu is damaged?
No damage but this is an awful idea. After my last post I remembered the samsung LV memory that CW, a kowledgeable fellow member of our community, always recommends. And amazon has excellent return polices but I don't think you will need it.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electr.../ref=pd_cp_e_2

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820147096

Here is a recent thread of an extreme overclocker's experiences using this memory. His problem was with the MB not the memory.

http://forums.hardwaresecrets.com/biostar-z77x-hi/8724

Last edited by Merman; 11-11-2012 at 03:08 AM.
Merman is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System crashing - need help please Camineet Other Issues 10 02-13-2013 12:24 AM
help updating a 3yr old system please Camineet Recommendations for Custom PC Building 4 06-15-2012 08:18 AM
My System continuously rebooting and struck in a loop. gopieee16 Operating Systems 1 07-13-2011 02:06 AM
My PSU grading system Phaedrus Power 13 11-04-2009 08:13 AM
System doesn't work with two DIMM modules bhardwaj1983 Memory 3 04-11-2007 08:35 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:57 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.