Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Recommendations for Custom PC Building



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 07:49 AM   #1
kubassek
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 10
kubassek is on a distinguished road

Default pls help with the power needed and quickly check

Hiya my name is kuba and this is my first time building a pc by my self. My question is wheather these parts will work together and what power i need in the psu. Thx here are the parts (btw the graphics card is from my old computer as it is still good enough, for a while anyway) :

MOBO:
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Socket AM3+ 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
CPU:
AMD Bulldozer FX-8 8150 8 Core 3.6Ghz Socket AM3+ 8MB L3 Cache 125W Retail Boxed Processor
RAM:
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 1.5V Non-ECC Unbuffered
Hard Drive:
Seagate 1TB Barracuda 3.5" SATA-III Hard Drive - 7200RPM 64MB Cache
CD Drive:
LiteOn iHAS124 24x DVD±RW DL & RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black with Nero Essentials

You can find all of the above on ebuyer.com for more info.
My Graphics Card is a nividia geforce 550 ti palit.
The case will depend on the money i have left.
Please help me with the power of the power supply.
kubassek is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 11-12-2012, 08:41 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,431
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Will work together? Yes.
Is this a good system? No.

You can spend the same money on an Intel system and will get higher performance: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...PU-Review/1657
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:55 AM   #3
kubassek
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 10
kubassek is on a distinguished road

Default thx

Thx for the quick reply and advice. I will do more research and reconsider changing to an intel based system.

So if i change the cpu and the mobo to this:

Intel Core i5 3470 3.20GHz Socket 1155 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Asus P8Z77-V Socket 1155 VGA DVI DisplayPort HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

then would the system be a good one in your opinion. And would it still run?

thx for the link great article
kubassek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:16 PM   #4
C.W.
Senior Member
 
C.W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date Jan 2011
Posts: 425
C.W. is on a distinguished road

Default

I think you could do better by cutting costs on the motherboard and buying a CPU cooler.

Asus P8Z77-V is a nice motherboard, but you're primarily paying for extras like 8 phase power on the CPU or USB bios updates. The "LK" version + a 3450 would cost $300 whereas the same deal with a normal version would be about $360. With the $60 you could get a COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO for $30 (which is better than the stock cooler) and then add about $30 to your case budget (which I think tend to hold their value more because you'll be able to reuse the case).
C.W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:16 PM   #5
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 768
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

I'd go with either an XFX Core edition 650W PSU, or a Seasonic S12II 650W. IIRC, both are the same PSU with different branding.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:06 AM   #6
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,431
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Much better system, but pay attention to the items people mentioned above!
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:06 AM   #7
kubassek
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 10
kubassek is on a distinguished road

Lightbulb thx

Thx for advising the power of the cpu i really had no idea what to get.
Also thx for the advice about the mother board but i will stay with my current one as i believe the more expensive price will mean it will last longer (hopefully) and the bios update feature is amazing for me as its my first time building a pc, bios updator just makes it so much easier. And i dont think i need the cpu cooler as its not a k edition so i can't oc it anyway. (wasn't planning to one way or another). Here is the build im considering, (all the parts) if you have any more thoughts about the system i would love to hear them.

Asus P8Z77-V Socket 1155 VGA DVI DisplayPort HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

Intel Core i5 3470 3.20GHz Socket 1155 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 1.5V Non-ECC Unbuffered

XFX Pro 650W Core Edition PSU - Single Rail 9x SATA 4x PCI-E

Seagate 1TB Barracuda 3.5" SATA-III Hard Drive - 7200RPM 64MB Cache

LiteOn iHAS124 24x DVD±RW DL & RAM SATA Optical Drive - OEM Black with Nero Essentials

and my old nividia geforce 550 ti 1gb palit.

NZXT Lexa S Case USB3.0 Version

I can get a better deal if i buy a case with this cpu:
Coolermaster GX 650W PSU
is it just as good because if it is i will save £20-£30

Last edited by kubassek; 11-13-2012 at 11:37 AM.
kubassek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:45 AM   #8
jcgeny
Banned
 
Join Date Mar 2011
Posts: 66
jcgeny is on a distinguished road

Default

i would take an ups to protect and regulate power delivered to the pc and also a ssd drive or two , a 64 Go is perfect to install windows or linux .
to spare money you can take a slower hd with 2 To and no dvdrom , but for xmas a blueray writer
that adds £100 x2 to the bill but the ups + bluray and 2 ssd are worth the expense and will really boost your pc and pleasure with it

the 2 tb is only $10 above the 1 tb
http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-ST2000...ard+drive+2+tb
http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Barrac.../dp/B005T3GRNW
jcgeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:26 AM   #9
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 768
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kubassek View Post
I can get a better deal if i buy a case with this cpu:
Coolermaster GX 650W PSU
is it just as good because if it is i will save £20-£30
Nowhere near as good. Other than the Silent Pro gold and hybrid series, CoolerDisaster PSUs aren't that good. Your case is just fine as is IMO, (unless you don't like the looks).
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:28 AM   #10
kubassek
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 10
kubassek is on a distinguished road

Default fixing the new pc

I got all my parts installed and the pc booted just fine first time. Everything was kk but now when i boot my pc first time and try to play a game the screen freezes and shows up a bunch of colorful squares. When i restart after the freeze the pc runs just fine no matter how much i overload it. My screen also randomly flashes black for a sec for no reason from time to time. Ohh by the way it doesn't just freeze during games if i leave it for long enough it will do it anyway. I tried updating my gpu drives but that didn't work. So i went into bios and noticed the ram was only running at 1333hz so i forced it to run at 1600hz, is it kk to do that?

Changing this frequency didn't fix my problem.

Last edited by kubassek; 12-01-2012 at 04:35 AM.
kubassek is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:51 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
© 2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.