Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Software > Operating Systems



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
keith.aranjuez
Senior Member
 
keith.aranjuez's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2012
philippines
Posts: 28
keith.aranjuez is on a distinguished road

Unhappy Windows XP Install always corrupt

Hi, i'm desperate for help. my dekstop's operating system became corrupted. when i try to reinstall windows xp, the installation is always corrupt. although it boots, everytime i click a .exe file to install it, "File not found. You may have not enough permission to access the file." pops out. i reformated the disk many times, checked the disk for errors (came clean) and reinstalled xp again but still no luck. last night i tried to reinstall xp again (for the 10th time), and when the installation finished and i reboot, the pc encountered bsod about 2 seconds after the xp loading screen appears. "Please check your hard disk for viruses...etc.." was the bsod message. what should i do? do i need to change the hard disk? please help.
keith.aranjuez is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 11-21-2012, 06:43 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,430
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

It seems you got a virus or something. Remove your HDD, install as a secondary on another computer, and run an antivirus.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:52 PM   #3
keith.aranjuez
Senior Member
 
keith.aranjuez's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2012
philippines
Posts: 28
keith.aranjuez is on a distinguished road

Default

i'll try that. thanks.
is there a possibility that the virus didn't get erased when i reformatted the drive? i even removed and recreated the partitions
keith.aranjuez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,430
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

keith, if you booted from the O.S. CD, then it is not possible that the virus carried over. The virus would only be kept if you booted from your hard drive and installed the O.S. inside Windows.

Also, try replacing the SATA cable. Usually bad cables can cause corrupt files.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:40 PM   #5
jcgeny
Banned
 
Join Date Mar 2011
Posts: 66
jcgeny is on a distinguished road

Default

you formatted using quick or not ? did you check the smart status ?
did you tried a low level format ? [i posted a link but it was removed without explanations [does this tool has virus ? ] ] this is the only that checks the bad clusters and decides for them all . here is a page having officials tools : http://www.ariolic.com/activesmart/l...el-format.html
it said : low level format is always of LAST RESORT when you encounter HDD problems.
but i do not thing so , if a drive is in good standing then it supports low level format .

may be try to have an ups when you do that : power regulation is very important and prevent a lot of damages http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uninter...e_power_supply , price is low and you can use it a very very long time
if hdrive is still ok , i would say your [ram or cpu or] mainboard is starting to die , may be because of an overvoltage ...
i think overvoltage is your "trouble" , from what i know hard-drive are more used to be suffering from "under-voltage"

try to find a linux distro or have a look at these
http://www.memtest86.com/
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

Last edited by jcgeny; 11-24-2012 at 11:53 PM.
jcgeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:08 AM   #6
keith.aranjuez
Senior Member
 
keith.aranjuez's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2012
philippines
Posts: 28
keith.aranjuez is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgeny View Post
you formatted using quick or not ? did you check the smart status ?
did you tried a low level format ? [i posted a link but it was removed without explanations [does this tool has virus ? ] ] this is the only that checks the bad clusters and decides for them all . here is a page having officials tools : http://www.ariolic.com/activesmart/l...el-format.html
it said : low level format is always of LAST RESORT when you encounter HDD problems.
but i do not thing so , if a drive is in good standing then it supports low level format .

may be try to have an ups when you do that : power regulation is very important and prevent a lot of damages http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uninter...e_power_supply , price is low and you can use it a very very long time
if hdrive is still ok , i would say your [ram or cpu or] mainboard is starting to die , may be because of an overvoltage ...
i think overvoltage is your "trouble" , from what i know hard-drive are more used to be suffering from "under-voltage"

try to find a linux distro or have a look at these
http://www.memtest86.com/
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
i didn't quick format it, i even used hiren's boot cd to do disk check, came out clean. i suspect the power supply is the culprit, but for now i don't have the money to buy a new PSU. gonna try linux tommorow.
keith.aranjuez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:21 AM   #7
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,430
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Try replacing the SATA cable, as I mentioned above.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:52 AM   #8
keith.aranjuez
Senior Member
 
keith.aranjuez's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2012
philippines
Posts: 28
keith.aranjuez is on a distinguished road

Default

update: i replaced the cable and i tried installing linux mint 12, it worked, but it's very sluggish. trying again to find the fault again.
keith.aranjuez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:56 AM   #9
jcgeny
Banned
 
Join Date Mar 2011
Posts: 66
jcgeny is on a distinguished road

Default

try latest release 14 cinamon if you have a recent vga ati or nv
mate if you do not
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2216
jcgeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:54 PM   #10
keith.aranjuez
Senior Member
 
keith.aranjuez's Avatar
 
Join Date May 2012
philippines
Posts: 28
keith.aranjuez is on a distinguished road

Default

i tried installing xp again after switching cables. btw, they are ide, not sata .
xp installed flawlessly, but when i tried installing apps like office 2007, the installers either say they are corrupt and cannot be used or they can't find some files even if i'm pointing to the right directory. help please..i really need this comp for testing my projects.
keith.aranjuez is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
corrupt, virus, windows xp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to Windows 7 question Rinkydink Operating Systems 1 08-18-2010 10:44 PM
Windows 7 Upgrade Deal tomahawk 1705 Operating Systems 0 06-26-2009 10:19 PM
The MBR is corrupt - how do I fix it? khelben1979 Operating Systems 1 05-26-2008 02:41 PM
The Official Windows Vista Service Pack 1 via Windows Update. Presler Operating Systems 1 03-18-2008 09:53 PM
Windows XP SP3 RC2 Presler Operating Systems 1 03-02-2008 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:26 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.