Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Miscellaneous > Content Comments



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2005, 06:45 AM   #1
Hardware Secrets Team
Administrator
 
Join Date Nov 2004
Posts: 5,598
Hardware Secrets Team is on a distinguished road

Default Connecting Two PCs Using a USB-USB Cable

There has been a new article posted.

Title: Connecting Two PCs Using an USB-USB Cable
URL: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/248

Here is a snippet:
"A very easy way to connect two PCs is using an USB-USB cable. Connecting two PCs with a cable like this you can transfer files from one PC to another, and even build a small network and share your Int..."

Comments on this article are welcome.

Best regards,
Hardware Secrets Team
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Hardware Secrets Team is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 09-09-2008, 08:09 AM   #2
Minotaur
Junior Member
 
Join Date Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Minotaur is on a distinguished road

Default

I get why an A and A cable will not work after I bought one, but why can you not plug it into a usb hub?

Seems really simple thing(for someone who knows what they are doing), to put software on both pcs and the other pc sees an external hard drive.
Minotaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 10:15 AM   #3
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,436
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Hello,

Because you need to reverse the signals, i.e. the input signal on computer "A" should be connected to the output signal on computer "B" and the output signal on computer "B" should be connected to the input signal on computer "A". This can't be accomplished with regular cables or USB hubs.

It is similar to what happens with network cables. You can use a regular pin-to-pin cable to connect 2 PCs; you need a cross-over cable.

Cheers,
Gabriel.
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 09:11 AM   #4
Dinesh Gadewal
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2009
Posts: 1
Dinesh Gadewal is on a distinguished road

Default Is Network interface card required?

Hi,

Suppose i do not wish to connect to Internet but i wish to form connection between 2 computers in "Network mode". So in this case, is network card (NIC) required to be present in either pc?

If not then is it so that the software simulates as a NIC?

Please provide me details and any relevant links that can give more such information. I am creating white paper on this article and i found this article worth.

Thank you in advance.
Dinesh Gadewal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 01:00 AM   #5
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minotaur View Post
... why can you not plug it into a usb hub?
Because a USB hub, as opposed to Ethernet hubs, principally work like a fork splitter. The signals coming in on one port aren't transferred to the other ports, just to the one computer connection.

Edit: Ooops, didn't notice that post was a year old. At least I hope it will help somebody...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinesh Gadewal View Post
... i wish to form connection between 2 computers in "Network mode". So in this case, is network card (NIC) required to be present in either pc?
Welcome to the forum!
As I understand it: No it isn't. The USB cable electronic drivers will create a virtual NIC on both computers when properly installed.

Cheers
Olle

Last edited by Olle P; 05-23-2009 at 01:10 AM.
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 12:49 PM   #6
gs600600
Junior Member
 
Join Date Jan 2010
Posts: 1
gs600600 is on a distinguished road

Default Has usb-usb bridge cable been tested with typical/common linux install

Curious about an Ubuntu - Gnome or KDE box tested with one of these bridge cables.

Thanks
gs600600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 08:15 AM   #7
Herbert3
Junior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Herbert3 is on a distinguished road

Default

Hi folks,
In:
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...-USB-Cable/248
you will find a nice explanation of the subject!!
I've another question: where could I buy such a cable IN EUROPE ?
All websites that sell them start with a 'zip code', so they do not supply outside the USA!
Could somebody help me for ordering?
Herbert3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 12:16 AM   #8
Olle P
Senior Member
 
Olle P's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2008
Sweden
Posts: 1,736
Olle P is on a distinguished road

Default

Elfa sell all over Europe.
For their best offer at your specific location click the "Change country" button in the upper right corner. (You might even have a local shop within range, depending on where you live. What country is that?)

Cheers
Olle
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:11 AM   #9
Kealan
Junior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Kealan is on a distinguished road

Default

Sorry for the necro, but is there a USB 3.0 version of this available somewhere? I've been looking for a while, haven't yet been able to find one.
Kealan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:52 AM   #10
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,436
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

I really don't know...
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:25 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.