Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > CPUs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2013, 06:33 AM   #1
ehsan9879
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 6
ehsan9879 is on a distinguished road

Default overclocking Amd Athlon x2 4200+

How can over clock Cpu Amd Athlon X2 4200+ on motherboard Asus m2v-tvm?
chipset: K8m890CE
RAM: 2 gb DDR2 667
VGA: nvidia geforce GTS450
power: Green 530 watt
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MB.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	393   Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	394   Click image for larger version

Name:	ram.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	395   Click image for larger version

Name:	SPD.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	396  

Last edited by Gabriel Torres; 03-06-2013 at 07:53 AM.
ehsan9879 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 03-06-2013, 07:55 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,436
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

You have to go to the motherboard setup and increase the CPU base clock little by little until you reach the maximum you can with the computer working.

This is an old tutorial, but will give you the basics:
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...erclocking/102

BTW. You won't see much performance increase, maybe you get 10-15% clock increase, but performance increase is lower than that. If you want a faster CPU, you'd better buy a new computer.

Last edited by Gabriel Torres; 03-07-2013 at 06:33 AM.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:17 AM   #3
ehsan9879
Senior Member
 
Join Date Nov 2012
Posts: 6
ehsan9879 is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel Torres View Post
You go to the motherboard setup and increase the CPU base clock little by little until you reach the maximum you can with the computer working.
thank you Gabriel. but in the set up menu, any configuration of the CPU is inactive. what can I do to increase CPU clock base?
please step by step.
now, I can afford to buy new computer.

Last edited by Gabriel Torres; 03-07-2013 at 06:33 AM.
ehsan9879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:34 AM   #4
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,436
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Did you read the tutorial? On your setup there must be an option to unlock the CPU configuration, usually an option that is at "auto" and you should change to "manual" to enable these configurations. Provided that your motherboard allows overclocking, of course.
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:41 PM   #5
brispuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date Dec 2012
Posts: 89
brispuss is on a distinguished road

Question

According to the user manual for the Asus M2V TVM motherboard, it appears that is not possible for users to adjust the CPU frequency multiplier, and it is not possible to adjust the FSB either. Therefore overclocking is not possible using this motherboard.

However. There is updated (beta) BIOS available which may allow overclocking, but that is not clear as there is no further information provided.

You could try updating to the latest (beta) BIOS (by flashing the ROM) and see if there are options for adjusting the CPU frequency multiplier and/or for adjusting the FSB speed under the "Advanced" tab of the BIOS menu.

Note, to get into BIOS menu, press the Delete key when the computer is starting up. You may have to press the delete key several times fairly quickly or the system may not pick up the key press and continue to load the operating system.
brispuss is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
overclocking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking an Athlon XP 2500+ Bentar Overclocking 7 03-22-2011 12:36 PM
ATHLON x2 6000 or C2D E8400?? dingusfungus CPUs 8 10-14-2008 03:29 PM
AMD 780G & Athlon X2 4850e. Presler CPUs 2 03-06-2008 11:28 AM
Questions on Overclocking Bart Overclocking 2 01-29-2008 03:45 PM
How to Transform an Athlon XP into an Athlon MP Hardware Secrets Team Content Comments 2 10-16-2006 03:59 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:51 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.