Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Power



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2013, 01:28 AM   #1
Andy62
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2013
Posts: 2
Andy62 is on a distinguished road

Default Moving from UK to Canada: Upgrade PSU?

Hi

I am about to move to Canada and wish to take my PC with me.

The PSU is the Zoostorm LPA-300C

AC Input 230v 5A 50Hz

DC Output +5v / +12v / -12v / +3.3v / +5VBS / Total
LPA-300 C 18A / 12A / 0.5A / 16A / 2A / 300w

I have read a number of articles on the site and my understanding is that I should be able to upgrade the PSU to one that

a) has an Active PFC
b) can cope with 110v to 240v (the monitor already does)
c) increase the power to allow for
- upgrade of graphics card
- adding a second HDD
- adding a second DVD / Blueray drive

Q. 1) Is my understanding correct?
2) What Power Rating should I be considering?
3) Any suggestions on appropriate PSUs
4) Should I get someone professional to upgrade the PSU
(i.e. I'm mod virgin and have no clue what problems I could come across )

Hope someone can put me on the right track
Thanks

Andy62

Last edited by Andy62; 05-11-2013 at 12:02 AM. Reason: modify layout of spec
Andy62 is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 05-10-2013, 07:04 AM   #2
Gabriel Torres
Administrator
 
Gabriel Torres's Avatar
 
Join Date Oct 2004
USA
Posts: 4,429
Gabriel Torres is on a distinguished road

Default

Yes, that is correct. You should pick a better power supply that is "full range", i.e. can work between 100 V to 240 V. You also should pick a more efficient power supply, at least 80 Plus Bronze.

As for replacing the power supply itself, this is very easy to be done, and we have a tutorial about that here:

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/362
__________________
Editor-in-Chief
Hardware Secrets
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
Gabriel Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:29 PM   #3
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 767
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

LPA Model number? I'm pretty sure that indicates a Leadman/Powmax PSU. That's a disaster waiting to happen!

As for a replacement, you probably don't need much if you've been getting away with a ~200W PSU thus far (Yes, I know it's supposed to be 300, but leadman and most generic brands lie about the ratings). I'd get a Seasonic S12II 380W, or G-360.

If you want to allow for upgrades, you could go with a Seasonic G-450 or S12II 430W or XFX Core edition 450W. All of those are very high quality PSUs.

Last edited by c.hegge; 05-10-2013 at 01:34 PM.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 12:01 AM   #4
Andy62
Junior Member
 
Join Date May 2013
Posts: 2
Andy62 is on a distinguished road

Default

Thanks for your prompt replies.

My biggest concern is making sure I get the same number and type of cables / connectors. I can see from the tutorial that it is really just unplug , unscrew, replace , reconnect.

Is there a website that will list the connectors on the LPA-300C so I can find appropriate upgrade? Or have I shown my self to be a noob because there are a limited number of combinations?

Andy62
Andy62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:37 AM   #5
asilunde
Senior Member
 
Join Date Jul 2010
UK
Posts: 45
asilunde is on a distinguished road

Default

According to eBay your PSU has standard connectors. So there are few, if any, PSUs you could buy which won't also have standard connectors.
asilunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:14 PM   #6
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 767
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

All you will probably need is 4 SATA connectors (with the upgrades you've mentioned) and a PCI-E connector. A seasonic G series or S12II series will both have all of those.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
240v to 110v, active pfc, cpu upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios Upgrade for Soyo P4S Dragon Ultra Romanticapped Motherboards and Chipsets 5 04-08-2014 10:00 PM
Upgrade from Platter to SSD SirValiantIII Storage 3 02-04-2013 11:43 AM
Looking for a cheap upgrade gopherfuzz Recommendations for Custom PC Building 3 07-11-2011 01:19 AM
etower 633 ids upgrade problem tomahawk 1705 Other Issues 1 09-17-2009 07:27 PM
Windows 7 Upgrade Deal tomahawk 1705 Operating Systems 0 06-26-2009 10:19 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:26 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.