Hardware Secrets Forums


Go Back   Hardware Secrets Forums > Hardware > Power



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2013, 11:28 AM   #1
BuildBuild
Junior Member
 
Join Date Jun 2013
Posts: 1
BuildBuild is on a distinguished road

Question Upgrading OEM PSU

Hello All,

I recently purchased an HP Compaq 6300 Pro minitower system. It is a BTX/SFF system with an Intel Ivy-Bridge Q75 motherboard and a 320W OEM Bestec PSU (P/N: 611484-001). Here is a picture of the motherboard and the OEM PSU specs:
Click image for larger version

Name:	HP Compaq 6300 Pro motherboard.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	417
Click image for larger version

Name:	HP OEM 611484 PSU Specs.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	88.1 KB
ID:	416

I want to upgrade the power supply to 500-600W so that I can utilize a nVidia GTX 650 (or better, in the future) graphics card in addition to other peripherals (another HD, wireless router card, etc).

Unfortunately, the HP Compaq 6300 Pro has an OEM PSU and has proprietary cabling: a 2x2 (4-pin), a 2x3 (6-pin - NOT PCIe), and a thin inline 6-pin that has 5 wires. Here is a picture of the cables that come with the OEM PSU:
Click image for larger version

Name:	HP OEM 611484-001 Bestec 320W PSU.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	419

I have an older, but very reliable PSU from another system, an ATX Antec EA-500D. Here's a picture of the specs:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Antec EA-500D PSU Specs.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	418

It seems that there are two ways to get this to work...

1) Run the Antec (or some other ATX PSU) to the PCIe connector. The Antec PSU would sit outside of the case. The green and black (PS/On) pins would be bridged. - Not preferred

2) Splice in the ATX power supply to the OEM connectors (replacing the OEM Bestec PSU), taking care that the correct voltage wire from the Antec PSU is connected to the appropriate voltage OEM cable connected to the OEM connectors. I plan on doing this using crimp connectors.

My questions to the community are:

1) Would option #2 work?

2) I noticed on the specifications that there is a +12Vsb on the Bestec OEM PSU and a +5Vsb on the Antec PSU. Would any +12V wire from the ATX PSU work?

3) What other pitfalls should I be aware of?

Thanks for helping out a fellow builder,
BuildBuild
BuildBuild is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Old 06-13-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
c.hegge
Senior Member
 
c.hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date Nov 2011
NSW, Australia
Posts: 779
c.hegge is on a distinguished road

Default

The 12VSB rail is the 12V standby rail. The motherboard uses this rail when the computer is off to power the PS-ON section of the board. Using the 12V wire from an ATX PSU won't provide power when the PSU is off, and therefore, the board won't be able to turn on. Using the 5vsb rail will probably not work either, as the voltage would be too low. So, unfortunately, I think option 1 may be the only option.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards!

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
c.hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
new Sponsored Links

Reply

Share This Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
hp compaq 6300 pro, power supply, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading an old cyberpower rig suggestions dragonbat13 Recommendations for Custom PC Building 5 04-15-2012 07:37 AM
Upgrading existing PC for Photo and Video editing Ballistics Recommendations for Custom PC Building 3 07-01-2011 12:24 PM
Upgrading a Sempron to an Athlon XP Bentar CPUs 5 03-20-2011 11:31 AM
upgrading CPU Halm2008 CPUs 6 02-10-2008 12:28 PM
Upgrading my Motherboard cornfarmer Motherboards and Chipsets 1 09-05-2007 04:31 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:44 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. ()
2004-12, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All rights reserved.